Bassias Ioannis

Yannis Bassias – President and CEO
Yannis has 25 years, in the international oil and gas exploration and services business. Since 2012 advised several companies in EEZs of the Indian Ocean, Equatorial America and West Africa on geological and legal aspects of frontier hydrocarbon basins. From 1997 to 2012, as president of Georex group, he demerged the exploration assets from the service activities and established technical subsidiaries in France, United Kingdom, Tunisia and the Republic of Congo. Managed database projects on CIS reservoirs, data mergers for Total, PetroFina and Elf, seismic data transcription for Snpc and Esso. Between 1996 and 2000 he directed evaluation teams for the development of oil and gas interests in Texas and Colombia and in 2007 initiated for Poros onshore exploration portfolios with assets in the Paris basin and Tunisia. Before joining the petroleum industry had an academic career at the Free University of Berlin and was associate professor in the National Museum of Natural History, Paris, with main research focus the Precambrian of Morocco and sedimentary basins and ridges of the Indian Ocean. Geologist, PhD. in tectonics and stratigraphy, he is author of more than 30 publications in international scientific or industry journals.

Bellas Spyros

Spyros Bellas - Vice President
Since 2011 Spyros became a key player in the hydrocarbons working group (Ministry of Environment & Energy, Upstream: Hydrocarbons Directorate). He is member and negotiator in various Evaluation Committees for Licensing, Oil & Gas Expert of the EFG and since October 2016 Vice President of HHRM. He studied Geology at Patras University, Greece and holds his Ph.D. from Freie Universtität Berlin, studying bio-stratigraphy of deep water clastics (western Greece flysch) and world-wide correlations. He lectured at the Geoscience Dept. of FU-Berlin and carried out research on sequence stratigraphy and sedimentary basin evolution focusing in the Mediterranean Sea (International Continental Drilling Project ICDP, on-shore Crete, Peloponnesus, various oceanographic cruises), Poland & Spain. Since 2003 worked as senior geoscientist in QC at the Central Laboratory of Public Works, Geo-Engineering Dept., Athens, while lecturing applied geology at various Universities.

Loukas Georgalas

Loukas Georgalas - Director
Loukas is General Director of Mineral Raw Materials in the Ministry of Environment and Energy. Since 1995, he works in the Ministry of Environment and Energy (former Ministry of Development or Ministry of Environment, Energy and Climate Change), where he has served as Head of Directorates of Energy Policy, Renewable Energy Sources and Saving Energy, Mineral Resources Policy and Energy Minerals. Geologist, PhD Hydrogeology, he has published a number of papers and has given many presentations. He has worked previously in GEMEE SA as a geologist, in drilling operations and was Chairperson of many committees, especially as Chairperson of the receiving Committee for the Archive for exploration and exploitation of hydrocarbons by Hellenic Petroleum SA, as Chairperson of the Assessment Committee of the Archive and as Chairperson of the Technical Advisory Committee for the Ioannina Concession.

Markos Loukogiannakis

Markos Loukogiannakis - Director
Markos is specialized in the petroleum exploration and has managed research, exploration and business activities of the oil sector in Greece and abroad since 1976. He served as Egypt Country Manager of Hellenic Petroleum S.A. from 2006 to 2012. Physicist, Ph.D. in Geophysics, he has published many papers in international journals and he had also being professor of seismic exploration in the post graduate department of geophysics in Thessaloniki University from 1995 to 2005. During the period 2012 to 2016 he served as General Manager of SEV Business Council for Sustainable Development. He participates as a voted member in the secretary of the Hellenic Network of the UN Global Compact. He is member of the Onassis Scholarship Foundation as well as of the European Association of Geoscientists and Engineers (EAGE).

Alexandra Sdoukou

Alexandra Sdoukou - Director
Alexandra is working since 2004 as legal advisor in the public administration in various positions at the Ministries of Economy, Development and Environment, Energy & Climate Change and as employee at the Management Organisation Unit of Development Programmes (MOU S.A.). From 2012 to 2015 she was heading the Minister's Cabinet at the Ministry of Environment, Energy & Climate Change and was involved in operational and business development of the projects related to energy security and diplomacy of the oil and gas sector. Since 2010, she has coordinated the processes of hydrocarbons exploration and exploitation in Greece. She has drafted all legal documentation for the concessions from the call for tenders up to the lease agreements with the concessionaires and has led the negotiations on behalf of the Greek State. She holds a Bachelor in Law, a Master’s Degree LLM in European Commercial Law from the University of Bristol, a M.Sc. in International & Economic studies from the Athens University of Economics and Business and a Diploma from the Executive Program of Leading, Innovating and Negotiation of Harvard University, Kennedy School of Government..

Stefanos Xenopoulos

Stefanos Xenopoulos - Director
Stephanos was employed between 1976-2010 by DEP/DEP-EKY/HELPE in the upstream hydrocarbons exploration and production sector, in reservoir engineering / well testing and field evaluations. He participated in the exploration campaigns in Greece that led to the discovery - among others of the West Katakolon and Epanomi fields. He has participated and led asset teams for the follow up of concessions and the acquisitions or farm–in interests in exploration and production blocks. On several occasions he presented in international and Greek conventions the status of exploration and production in Greece. He is chemical Engineer, holds a M.Sc. in Petroleum Engineering from Imperial College and has been member of the Greek Chamber of Engineers (TEE) and of the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE).